How to make adorable hanging kitchen towels

July 26, 2013 at 10:35 am 2 comments

These are two finished towels from my first batch.

These are two finished towels from my first batch.

This has been a post long time in the making. 2 years ago, I came upon this post on Pinterest. (Here is the pdf of the directions and pattern.) I thought, “Oh, what a great idea.” And so I proceeded to make them for Christmas presents in 2011. And everyone rejoiced. My mom, proceeded to tell me that she needed more of them AND wouldn’t it be a great idea to do some for the different holidays? Well, yes, yes it would. But, I had just got done thinking to myself that I wasn’t going to make anymore of them (I think I just dreamed a little too big in my first batch). But, you know, she is my mother. So, for Christmas 2012, I decided that I was going to make another batch of them. This time I scaled back on how many people received them, BUT each person that did get them got a big selection of holiday ones, so I think it basically ended up being the same.

Here is my second batch towels.

Here is my second batch towels.

Things I learned while making the towels:
Go big on the buttons. I ended up picking out specialty buttons for the second batch and they basically ended up stealing the show. Splurge a little on the buttons and you won’t regret it.
• Same thing goes for towels.
If you use interfacing, thicker the better. I didn’t use the flannel as the pattern suggested, I actually used interfacing (mostly because I already had some that I could use). In my first batch, I just use the normal kind that I had. After a couple washings, it starts to look kind of saggy. So, as my grandma suggested, on the second batch, I used a thick interfacing. It worked SO MUCH BETTER. Listen to your grandma.
• Don’t skip the ironing. I hate ironing. I actually only have an iron in the house for crafts, and I still don’t want to use it. With this craft though, don’t skip it. It makes your life 100 percent easier.
Assembly line. I found the easiest way was to do each step for all the towels at once. Already have the iron out? Go ahead and iron on all the interfacing. Have out your button foot? Go ahead and make all the button holes.

And now, let’s get to actually making the towels … (note: all of these steps are from the first batch)

Washed Fabric
Towels

1. After you have gathered all of the fabric, thread, towels, etc. Wash everything.

2. Cut out the pattern pieces and put them to together (tape, glue, etc.)

IMG_1105

3. Cut out the fabric. You will need two matching pieces per towel.

IMG_1140

4. If using interfacing, go ahead and iron it on. Be sure to get into the top, pointed area. If using flannel, go ahead and cut out that as well.

IMG_1112

4. Pin the pieces together with one side of fabric (right-side up) and the other fabric (right-side down).

IMG_1113

5. Stitch around starting at the bottom (on either side), all the way up and back down to the other side. Leave the bottom open.

IMG_1117

6. Turn it right-side out and then iron.

IMG_1119

7. Sew up the sides again. So you have something else that looks like above.

IMG_1123

8. Cut towel in half. (You only need a half for each one.) Then gather the raw edge of the dishtowel up so that it will fit in your opening nicely. Do this step by using needle and thread to gather.

IMG_1120

9. Turn in a hem on the bottom. Insert the top of the towel (raw, gathered edge) into the open side of the handle — make sure it’s at least an inch. And then pin in place.

IMG_1127

10. Sew at least two rows of stitches to hold in place.

IMG_1134

11. Grab your button. Use it to mark on the handle that folds down where you would like your buttonhole to be. (I just placed the button down and marked a little above and a little below the actual button.) Here you can use your buttonhole foot or whatever fancy things you do to make holes. My machine decided to break and not to the button function anymore (about half way through the first batch). It would only go up one side but not the other (quite the pain)!

IMG_1130

12. Fold down the top part of the handle and figure out where you would like the button to be. Mark it on the wide base. Sew on button.

IMG_1303

13. And you are done!

Here are some highlights of the towels that I made:

2012-12-12 03.50.03
2012-12-12 03.48.05
2012-12-12 03.57.42
2012-12-12 03.51.28

2012-12-12 03.48.38

2012-12-12 03.50.15

2012-12-12 04.00.29
Entry filed under: Crafts, Home Life, Me!, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Some nightstand window shopping Making a wine-cork trivet

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica R.  |  July 26, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    Hey, where is my holiday towel? Hehee. Seriously, these are super cute. Great job!

    Reply
  • 2. adriennefriend  |  July 27, 2013 at 11:11 am

    So cute! You are really talented. Thanks for the step-by-step instructions. I am going to share this with my crafty friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fattie Twitter Style

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories