Some nightstand window shopping

April 2, 2013 at 2:21 pm 2 comments

I am in the market for some new nightstands for our master bedroom. Right now, we are using my husband’s previous end tables for nightstands. Mine is OK, but his is smaller and he knocks stuff off stuff falls off all the time. It’s so bad it’s a running joke at this point. So I might not always be actively looking, but it’s in the back of my mind.

One thing I can’t wrap my head around, when dealing with nightstands, is how expensive they are. You want $300 for that, really?? I could get a whole dresser for that. It’s just like when the shorter bookcase is like $5 cheaper than the bigger one. It pains my soul. And the company knows it has you between a rock and a hard place because when you need a certain size, bigger isn’t always better.

So I was at Hobby Lobby picking up supplies for another crafty project I’m working and I noticed when I was on my way to the checkout (I could wander around in there for hours looking at everything) a table that might work for a nightstand. So here are some of Hobby Lobby’s offerings that caught my eye. Ultimately, some of them turned out to be wrong after I looked more closely, some were vetoed by the husband and, in the case of one of them, deemed to be better fit for a kids’ room. So, without further ado, some nightstand window shopping …

Plate Nightstand

Super cute. There is actually an American flag painted on the top of this one. FAIL.

Black wood nightstand

Husband said, “No.” So, that’s that.

Pipe Nightstand

This was actually one of my favorites. Then I realized that it would look super cute in a kids room … yep. Not really what we are going for.

All the drawers nightstand

This was the husband’s favorite at first. I really liked it but the issue I had was I’m going to lose everything in all those little drawers. Plus, they were a little hard to pull out.

Basic colors nightstand

The colors of this one were MUCH better in person. While cute, didn’t really make me want to pull out my wallet.

And …. right now the leader of the pack…

123 Nightstand

This is the winner right now. The industrial look meets the wood look. I’m going back to measure this one.

I would like to get some nightstands that will go with a wood headboard. (I LOVE the reclaimed wood ones floating around everywhere.) So, even though I don’t have one now, (Master bed frame is actually black metal) I want something that will work with both.

I am going to go back and take a measuring tape with me. I’ll keep you posted if any big purchases are made!

Entry filed under: Crafts, Home Life, Me!, Shopping. Tags: , , , , .

What I accomplished in January How to make adorable hanging kitchen towels

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica R.  |  April 5, 2013 at 10:53 am

    I like the one that’s in the lead right now, too. I’m digging the reclaimed wood trend (maybe it’ll stick around bc it’s awesome). The colors are warm but not too kiddy. It seems like a perfect fit. Hope it works out!

    Reply
    • 2. kittypaws9  |  April 5, 2013 at 1:28 pm

      Thanks! I went to measure and I’m thinking the top might be on the small side (Spin has a pretty big valet thing that needs to be able to fit) … I have to measure Spin’s right now and see, because he wants one bigger than that. I’m going to be a sad panda if it turns out to be too small though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fattie Twitter Style

Categories