Taking art into my own hands

July 16, 2012 at 4:45 am 5 comments

About a year ago, I redid my guest bathroom. I found the cutest shower curtain at Target with trees and woodland creatures. Adorable! It’s done in super cute ’60s colors.

So I paint the bathroom a dark yellow and buy a new rug, etc. I’m really excited for the change. (The last stuff in the bathroom had traveled with me from my parent’s house and I had been using it since middle school. It was in a stars-sun-moon theme.) Then I run into a snag. I can’t find any art to go with it. Any woodland creatures I find come in super bright pastels or dark den colors. By the way, do you know how hard it is to find nice looking squirrel art? No? Well, take my word for it.

Finally after about 6 months, I found these two owl pieces at Target. (They are about 8×8 squares.)

Perfect … for one wall. BUT, even with those, I still had a major gap above the toilet. Previously, a nice big wire stars and moon had hung there. So every time I went in there it was a huge void of nothingness. Plus, you can see it when you walk up the stairs. Plus, it helps draw attention away from Mr. Toilet. Triple whammy.

I was at Pier One (which I didn’t realize still existed nor was I really interested in it as a teenager) and saw some very cool owl art that I just had to have. From memory, I thought most of the colors were right …

Look at how majestic and adorable he is! The flowers are a prefect color, but you may have noticed the completely red background Mr. Owl is chilling on. Yeah, there is absolutely no red any way in that room. Not that I need everything to be matchy matchy, but it was kind of clashing with everything else. I thought it would be OK. I even left him in there for about 4 months now to see if it would grow on me. The answer? No, no it did not. I have been looking and still haven’t found anything. I did find someone on Etsy that had made art that goes with the exact curtain, but it was more for kids and they wanted way too much money for some easy Photoshoping.

On Sunday, I was cleaning out the guest room closet (which is my craft closet) and I found some blank canvas. So I decided enough was enough! I had previously made art to match our downstairs bathroom, so why not this one, too?

So I grabbed a pencil and sketched out my idea. And hung it up to make sure I liked it.

Satisfied, I went on to painting. Had a hard time deciding what the background color should be. It just looks white in the photos, but there’s a lot more texture to it. I started out with more of a dark tan, but hated it. So while white isn’t too exciting, I think it works. And mixing some of the colors was a bitch. I realized just how long I haven’t painted — some of my tubes were completely dried out. See what my end palette looked like below. (Don’t worry. It was not clean to start with. It actually hangs on my wall when not in use.) (And, yes, that photo was taken in the bathroom. I might have painted in there because I didn’t want to take the shower curtain off and on. Call me lazy, I saved two steps!)

And, drum roll, please ….. The end product!

I haven’t sealed it yet, so I still need to do that, but here is what it looks like up.

And so that’s it. Lesson learned: Can’t find the art you want? Make it yourself.

Entry filed under: Crafts, Home Life, Me!. Tags: , , , .

Dear Avenue, You Were Dead To Me My super ambitious (well, not that ambitious) list for 2013

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EricaJ, pureicedtea.com  |  July 16, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    So freakin cute! The results turned out beautifully.

    Reply
    • 2. kittypaws9  |  July 17, 2012 at 12:28 am

      Thanks!

      Reply
    • 3. kittypaws9  |  July 17, 2012 at 12:28 am

      Thanks!

      Reply
  • 4. Sherri  |  July 17, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Love it, looks great!

    Reply
  • 5. sleepydumpling  |  August 14, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    What a brilliant job! Want to come and decorate my bathroom as well?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Fattie Twitter Style

Categories